You need to be an absolute fucking monster!

Travis Knowlton LCSW
7 min readOct 17, 2021

Then control it

Lately, society tells everyone to be calm, passive, and docile. Don’t cause a stir and put your own convictions aside for others.

That approach will not help anyone and only creates a bunch of doormats. To be clear I am not arguing for a bunch of inconsiderate assholes walking around pushing people out of the way.

What I am advocating for can be wrapped up in a quote from general Mattis:

If you scan the internet you will see different renditions of this quote, but what it stands for is having the self-control to be who you must be and restrain who you can be.

I was raised by a Vietnam marine veteran who saw his fair share of combat. Never going to the veteran's administration because just like now, they're a shit show. none the less, military and heavy martial arts were the ideals and skill set I was raised upon. That is not to neglect or push to the side the compassion and empathy I learned from my mother: always there for others without hesitation.

These lessons carried me through the construction career and eventually into my own time of service…

--

--

Travis Knowlton LCSW

I'm a husband, father, veteran, and licensed clinical social worker that is here to enjoy and share!