You need a crisis!

Travis Knowlton LCSW
2 min readNov 13, 2021
credit: unsplash.com

My theoretical orientation as a psychotherapist is existentialism. I follow Viktor Frank’s approach. He lived through 4 concentration camps in World War 2. I highly suggest reading his book: A man’s search for meaning. I have read it a few times! With this approach we assist clients in discovering, finding, or creating the foundation of who they are.

It is not, why had life done this to me, but

What is life trying to teach me!

Do you see the difference? This can be done by diving deep into the crevices of your mind or putting yourself in an environment that places you within an existential crisis.

In these moments all of the fluff and superficial bullshit gets cleared away and you are left with the raw YOU! Who you are and who you are not. What you stand for and how you identify.

Here is where you see your true grit!

Who you are on a day to day, is not you. It is the socially accepted projection of how you want the world to see and interact with you.

When challenged or tested to the point you think all I’d lost….. that is you, the real you! How you react or don’t react. That is raw!

And it’s not bad, or good for that matter!

If you are on the other side of an existential crisis, then congrats! You're here!

--

--

Travis Knowlton LCSW

I'm a husband, father, veteran, and licensed clinical social worker that is here to enjoy and share!