The Woods

Travis Knowlton LCSW
1 min readMar 20, 2022

I grew up playing and exploring them.

Adventures with fire steel and water I discovered my soul.

Connecting with the flowing freeze of the passing creek, one can’t help but notice the crisp scent of pine and moss in the chilled air.

A bruise, a sliver now and then. You grow with respect and fondness for the calming focus that comes from knowing you might not be at the top of pecking order out here.

Sitting now on what was once a towering oak, i drift through the urge to answer the call of the wild or submit to the demands of a civilized life. Why then do I leave as to reminisce again with an old friend?

The lessons gained as a boy carry me through the hard and desilt times. I know I can return for the reflection, but I desire to return for the journey….

Travis Knowlton

--

--

Travis Knowlton LCSW

I'm a husband, father, veteran, and licensed clinical social worker that is here to enjoy and share!