The two best days of your life!

Travis Knowlton LCSW
2 min readMar 17, 2024
Keegan house via Unsplash

The two best days of your life are the day you are born, and the day you find out why.

-Mark twain

Marching down the road from a 7-month deployment to Afghanistan, I was numb and only following directions. Wondering why I was numb without being able to change that, and I continued to march.

The moment I got to hold my firstborn child, the tears began to fall. It was then the emotions turned back on!

It was that moment I was born again! Alive, not only surviving!

A little more than Six years later. I was standing in the hallway of the hallway of the school for trouble teens,where I was doing my internship, and a few of the kids came up and shared all they had learned from our time together . They thanked me for what I have taught them and encouraged them to do so in our therapy sessions. I walk back to my supervisor, and I share with a crack in my voice, chills going down my neck and through my arms, a tear of joy that I believe these kids have taught me more than I could ever teach them.

-*-

I have found my purpose and my calling. This was a flooding of sympathy and empathy, which I had never felt before. I was struck by the power of this work, not only for the people i talk to but also for tbe power and impact it holds over me. For it was that day, I found the way to my life!

Travis Knowlton LCSW

Have you found your why?

--

--

Travis Knowlton LCSW

I'm a husband, father, veteran, and licensed clinical social worker that is here to enjoy and share!