The awakening

of life and purpose

Travis Knowlton LCSW
2 min readNov 22, 2021

--

Unsplash

I was raised by a marine who has intense combat and martial arts training and experience. These lessons and skills were taught to me. I absorbed and created them for myself. Being the warrior mindset was my identity.

Enlisting in the United States navy As a corpsman of marines was the greatest honor one could have.

I took the warrior mind and skillset to Helmand province Afghanistan with 5/11 Romeo battery H.I.M.A.R.S.

I was obliged and honored to put my skill set to the test.

Now I’m here. Once being mad at my father and saying “ why? Why turn me into a warrior? I have applied for it and now I’m nothing!

I had to rebuild myself. Redefine who I am, how I see the world. Create a new purpose.

I became a civilian again. Hating the average American citizen for being blinded by the veil of ignorance, I had a sense of anxiety. Believing that if chaos or hostility were to break out, they would all die, and I would be the only one who would react properly.

Being a psychotherapist, I tell people the following. “ My job is to make myself obsolete, and assist you in realizing you are your own mental warrior.

It took time but I took the warrior training and therapy and smashed them together!

Knowing that I am helping others be their best and strongest self allows me to see the world and realize there are a few more strong and capable people to do the right thing when all else fails!

-Travis Knowlton

--

--

Travis Knowlton LCSW

I'm a husband, father, veteran, and licensed clinical social worker that is here to enjoy and share!