I know I must,

Travis Knowlton LCSW
3 min readMay 26, 2022

but how do I stay in the middle!?

Joshua fuller-Unsplash

Arriving in the United States after deployment with the marine corps to Helmand province Afghanistan was a very difficult transition.

I was angry, upset, and disappointed in the American citizen. They, either through choice or indoctrination, were blinded to the atrocities of the world around us.

Having all these first world problems; wanting and demanding Clean drinking water to such a degree that the next country with good water might as well be so far away in the standard that they don’t exist. Fighting over equality and liberty instead of conversing and finding that there are more similarities than differences.

But now, with all the shootings and crazy laws that allow people to steal and violate others with no legal repercussions, I find myself in a mindset I have not contemplated.

Americans are seeing and experiencing what the rest of the world sees. For that I am glad, we needed to take off our rose-colored glasses.

But with that comes an unexpected dilemma

The unsuspected fear that has risen is this: we as Americans are not a brassen as we once were. We allow talking heads and corrupt politicians to make us believe we must fight one another. There are people who are not students of history challenging…

--

--

Travis Knowlton LCSW

I'm a husband, father, veteran, and licensed clinical social worker that is here to enjoy and share!