How did you love?

Travis Knowlton LCSW
2 min readNov 29, 2021
unsplash stock photo

Definitely inspired by the Shinedown song.

Here is the official music video link:

https://youtu.be/GA1Sm3tvS0c

Internationally acclaimed, author, and writer brownie ware has done amazing research. She worked In palliative care and found 5 regrets that people have on their deathbed.

1. I wish I lived my true life, not what others expected of me.

2. I wish I hadn’t worked so hard.

3. I wish I had the courage to express my feelings.

4. I wish I stayed in touch with my friends.

5. I wish I had let myself be happier.

Here is the link to her site:

https://bronnieware.com/blog/regrets-of-the-dying/

Combining these to references, we see that what we leave behind is what we reflect upon.

When reviewing all the world’s main religions, we see a common thread: love thy neighbor. This appears to be a lot harder on the surface, but I believe the opposite.

If we actually focus upon our demise and not brush it off for a distant future to handle, we see it as not a dark and gloomy topic or perspective. If anything, it can be enlightening and lift us from a burden.

--

--

Travis Knowlton LCSW

I'm a husband, father, veteran, and licensed clinical social worker that is here to enjoy and share!