Desire to dream…

Travis Knowlton LCSW
2 min readApr 10, 2022
Casey Homer-Unsplash

Eager to rest. The day was long, the drive was abundant and the mind is all but spent. The longing to rest my eyes has arrived and I couldn’t be more willing.

The wallowing into sleep is not from the day of work, it is the submitting to bliss, a world of comfort and solace. This world drives the one I must awake to upon the rise of the morning sun.

Here love is the divine, we reunite with ourselves and one another. We are driven by the unity of all and summoned by the call of divinity within our souls.

Although I would love for this world and the one I must walk in to unite, it helps me to appreciate those nights and those dreams, for it is my purpose to do this work.

When nudged off this path I fall to despair, seeking only to run back to my dreams. The realization that my work is not enough, I seek not the dreams for inspiration but to seclude.

Here is where the place I once knew has now become a speck of light in the world that was once illuminated.

Awaken to a new day, distraught and weathered I can but only hold my dreams to action for a brief moment.

I fall prey to my diversion into the dark abyss. I don’t see the dream, I don’t see the enlightenment.

I am but alone in my own prison.

--

--

Travis Knowlton LCSW

I'm a husband, father, veteran, and licensed clinical social worker that is here to enjoy and share!